What to expect from me in the next twelve months. Hint – it’s not books…

Hello my dear readers! It’s been a fair while between posts for me, and while I’ve been trying to keep up with my social media, the best I’ve managed is sharing a few things that have made me laugh or made me feel something good. The reason for that is that I’ve been ill since late January and just haven’t felt up to anything due to constant nausea. Before you get too worried, I’m not sick in a bad way, I’m almost 15 weeks pregnant and the nausea and the exhaustion has all been hormone related.

Even through the sickness, we’re super excited about having a fifth baby to add to our brood (We currently have one daughter and three sons).We actually lost our last pregnancy, so we’ve been extremely careful this time around (making sure I actually rest was top of the list for this workaholic) and so far everything is progressing perfectly. The children are ecstatic and my youngest is full of funny questions about babies and pregnancy that have been very entertaining for everyone. So, I can actually update you all via my Facebook profile when he comes up with something now that the cat’s out of the bag.

photo credit: Hellä kosketus via photopin (license)

 

As wonderful as this news is, unfortunately, it means that I haven’t gotten any writing done. Something about pregnancy hormones seem to have broken my imagination, and every time I think about my characters, they’re all standing around, drawing pictures in the dirt with the toe of their shoes. I am hoping that when the nausea finally subsides that they’ll all spring back into action and start yelling at me again. But for now, I have to accept that the writing isn’t going to happen and announce a brief break from writing until after the baby is born and I’m able to function like a normal human again.

And I do apologise sincerely to all those who were hoping for the next Beautiful series book next month. It will come, it’s just unlikely to make it out this year.

That’s not to say there will be absolutely nothing coming from this house in the coming months. We’re currently working on the audio for Drawn Obsession, Drawn Redemption and 47 Things. And on top of that, my husband has tackled his first romance, and it’s almost ready for me to take a look at. I’m excited about reading his full work as he’s always been a gifted writer (I met him when I was fourteen and he was fifteen and he wrote a story with a strong female character based on me :sigh:) and writing a book has been his long term dream. But with working to provide for our family for so many years, then working in the house as a house-husband to support my writing career, he’s continued to put his dream on hold. So I’m really happy that he’s finally had the chance to get at least one of his stories out of his head – more on that later…

But for now, I’ll be here focusing on growing this baby. I’ll put updates on my FB profile as my belly grows (you’ll probably all get sick of me!) As for my next reader event, I’ve had to pull out off, or not sign up for a few, but I’ll be back signing in 2017 at Fictionally Yours, Melbourne. Until then, I’ll be on mummy duty, and I’ll sneak in writing whenever I can.

Thanks so much for understanding,

blog sign

 

10 Comments

Filed under Stuff I wanna say, Writing Updates

10 responses to “What to expect from me in the next twelve months. Hint – it’s not books…

  1. Congrats hun. Awesome news xxx ooo

    Like

  2. Congratulations. Good luck and stay safe xx

    Like

  3. Tammie

    I’m so happy for you and your family and pray for a healthy baby. I’m also looking forward to your youngest sons remarks. They’re always so amusing. Take care of yourself and your health always comes first. I can only wish for the best for you and your family. I’ll look forward to reading your husbands book. And of course yours after you have adjusted to the newest member of your family. Love always Tammie

    Like

  4. Carmen Barahona

    That is such wonderful news. Congratulations! God bless you and your lovely family. Can’t wait for your next book but your health and the health of your baby is top priority.

    Like

  5. Tabitha Willbanks

    Congratulations Lady!!! I am so happy for you!!! This is wonderful news!

    Like

Leave a Reply

