Beautiful Series – Favourite Moments – A BEAUTIFUL STRUGGLE

A Beautiful Struggle holds a very special place in my heart. It’s the first fictional novel I ever wrote and while I probably made a lot of mistakes in it, I still love it for being the roots from which the Beautiful Series grew from. I have learned so much since this book and it’s hard for me to choose just one scene to share as I love these characters because they were my ‘firsts’.

One scene I always think of when I look back on this book is the elevator scene in chapter two when we’re still getting to know all of the characters. It’s just a bit of fun and lets us see Elliot and Katrina alone for the first time, and introduces us to David.

If you haven’t read any of the Beautiful Series yet, you can find them on iBooks, Amazon, Nook and Kobo.

Here it is –

Beautiful Series 1 - Apple - http://bit.ly/1jBMi2Q     Amazon - http://amzn.to/1eYfQ6F

Beautiful Series 1 – Apple – http://bit.ly/1jBMi2Q Amazon – http://amzn.to/1eYfQ6F

I rushed towards the lifts and could see the doors starting to close of a cab that was on its way down, so I ran for it – jumping through the shrinking gap before it got too small for me to fit through.

“Whoa Indiana Jones! I think you left your hat out there!” said the only other person inside the elevator. I sucked in my breath when I noticed it was Elliot. He was leaning against the side of the car smiling his sexy and very amused grin at me. He seemed really friendly – a stark contrast of the stoic man I’d met earlier that day. I actually looked over my shoulder to check he was talking to me. Seeing no-one else, I responded with raised eyebrows.

His brilliant blue eyes were dancing as he clarified, “You know – Indiana Jones? He just makes it under a door and then reaches back for his hat?” I shook my head, and he laughed putting his hands on either side of his head like his head might explode. I gulped as I noted the curve of his bicep through his shirt, “Oh my god! I can’t believe you haven’t seen that!”

I shrugged my shoulders and offered, “Sorry?”

He was still laughing as shook his head. “No worries; it’s just a classic film – you should watch it some time.”

“I’ll be sure to put that on my to-do list,” I told him.

“You should.” He put his hands in his pockets and focused on the numbers as they counted towards the ground floor.

Standing close to Elliot, I noticed his height – I guessed he was around 6’3” as he was just a notch above me in my low heels. Gorgeous and tall, I was practically a puddle at his feet. I could feel my body humming with attraction. It felt like there was some sort of force that was trying to pull me towards him. I wondered if he was feeling it too as images of him hot, sweaty and naked flashed through my mind. Don’t think like that! I chastised myself, not wanting to fall prey to my hormones and make a fool of myself.

Despite the ‘no dating’ rule stating that I shouldn’t act on my attraction, I didn’t have time for men in my life. I had recently gotten out of a relationship and had no inclination to start another one – I needed to focus on my sport, my studies and my work; which I thought was more than enough for one girl.

“How’s your first day going?” his rumbling baritone invaded my thoughts and snapped me to attention.

“Huh? Oh, Not too bad!” I answered quickly. “Just trying to figure my way around.”

“It’s not so hard. The office is really just a big circle. If you keep going eventually you’ll work out where you are,” he said as the elevator doors chimed open. “I’ll see you around Katrina. That was a pretty cool elevator entrance. It made my day,” he beamed at me, and I blushed uncontrollably.

He lifted his hand in a wave as he left. I lingered back in the elevator bay and shamelessly watched him walk away until David placed his head next to mine.

“Who are we looking at?” he whispered.

I blinked away my erotic thoughts of Elliot and turned to David. “Nobody,” I answered coyly.

“Nobody huh? I wish you looked at me like I was nobody then. I wouldn’t mind doing whatever was in your mind making your cheeks all pink like that,” he teased.

I swatted him on the arm. “Get your mind out of the gutter and come and get lunch with me. We’ve lost 15 minutes already.”

“As you wish my dear Trina,” he said wiggling his eyebrows up and down comically. He took my arm and linked it with his as we set off across the street to the nearest food court, to have a quick chat and an even quicker meal.

 

What was your favourite part? Feel free to comment below ❤

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Beautiful Series – Favourite Moments – A BEAUTIFUL STRUGGLE

  1. I remember enjoying the references to her training/exercise, all that side of things too. And the scene in the nightclub (and outside). Yowza. This is still my fave book of yours Lilliana. xx

    Like

  2. lharms2013

    My favourite part of A Beautiful Struggle was when David went and beat the crap out of Christopher.
    When the doctor left the curtained area Davde turned to me, confusion in his eyes. “Why were you even with Christopher anyway?”
    “I wasnt with him. I was actually there talking to Abby- I wanted to go out and they were so I was saying hi. It was no big deal, I wasnt trying to rekindle anything.”
    He reached out to me and took my hand, pulling me towards the bed he was on. I sat down facing him. He kept his eyes focused on my hands as he spoke, “I lost my mind today seeing you with him Katrina,” he looked up at me, and I could see the pain in his eyues. “I cant handle seeing you around other guys anymore- especially him.” He reached up and touched my cheek gently, “Does this hurt?”
    I closed my eyes against his touch, feeling the warm familiarity of his fingers against my skin. I held his hand against my cheek and let a tear escape as my heart ached from missing him so much. I shook m head no, not trusting my voice to speak.
    He moved his thumb to wipe my tear away and sat up so his swollen face was closer to mine, “Katrina.. I cant handle seeing yyou with anyone else because….because I want to be with you,” he whispered. I met his eyes and could see the truth in them. Eyes that were blue like mine and filled with all of the pain and suffering that I had also been feeling during our time apart.
    I saw myself in his eyes, there was a connection between us thjat ran so deeply, we were one and the same, I realised that connection, it had been there all along, “I love you Katrina,” he murmured as he moved closer and kised me gently, softly bruching his swollen lips over mine eing careful to avoid hitting his nose.
    When he pulled away, he looked into my eyes, his own filled with concern as he wiped at tears I hadn’t felt flowing. That was the moment I understood – the entire time I had been with Elliot, I had been missing David. I had felt like a pat of my sould was gone when wasnt in my life, and I was using Elliot to fill that gaping hole. I didnt love Elliot. I loved David.

    Like

Leave a Reply

