When a character whispers in your ear…

 

I often get asked where inspiration for my characters come from. Normally they just pop into my head at random times, I don’t know who they are or what book they belong to. But they tell me a small part of their story and who they are.

Sounds a little crazy – I know that. But it’s true.

The reason I’m posting this now, is that it happened to me today. I was sitting on my couch, minding my own business and suddenly she was there. I have no idea where she belongs or who her man is going to be. But I thought I’d show you all how my characters starts. 

This is how she came to me –

Desolate. That’s the word that describes how I feel most of the time.

Outside, I’m smiling. I’m functioning. But inside, I feel like I’m fighting to survive. Fighting just to get up and continue to function every day.

It isn’t even as if I’ve had the hardest life in the world. It hasn’t been easy either. But many have had worse.

And I’ve been given opportunity. I’d love to say I squandered it, and that’s why I didn’t succeed. But I did. I did succeed – every single time I succeeded.

It’s just that there’s always someone. Someone who’s there to tear me down. To put me in my place and make me feel like I’m hurting them by trying. There’s always someone, yelling in my ear, holding me back when all I want to do is be free.

I don’t think I’ll ever be free. I’ll always be stuck. Just as I am now. And forever struggling.

Perhaps I’m just weak…

 

Honestly, I got upset after hearing that. I feel responsible for her now and I want to find a way to give her that freedom she so deserves.

Now, I just have to wait for her hero to visit me, so I can match them up…

Leave a comment

Filed under Stuff I wanna say

Leave a Reply

