Friday Feature – High Heels in New York by A.V Scott

Today I have the pleasure of having my good friend AV Scott on the blog. I met Aviva via facebook when we both launched our debut novels around the same time and we struck up a firm friendship. 

I had the pleasure of reading High Heels in New York as Aviva re-wrote it after pulling it from sale early this year when a mix up in the files saw the storyline to get a little off track and poor reviews to poor in.

Unfortunately, the reviews are still there, but I urge you to ignore any reviews put up before June 2013. This little piece of chick lit is very entertaining indeed. I loved the characters, the wit, and the writing. I can’t to see what happens in the next book of this four book series.

Blurb

Disclaimer: This book has been extensively edited and storyline updated. However, amazon will not remove reviews from originally published version. All reviews prior to June 16, 2013 are based off originally published version from 2012.

Melissa De La Rosa has never felt luckier. She is to marry her ideal man, and about to launch her shoe line during the coveted fashion week in New York. But in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart when tragedy strikes, unleashing a string of events she never in her wildest dreams anticipated.

Then there’s Angelina, is a Hollywood has-been who can’t break her addiction to drugs, which she basically needs to actually function. Banking on her latest picture to launch her back into Hollywood royalty, a long kept secret vows to destroy the life she’s so carefully crafted.

In the city that never sleeps, secrets are never truly hidden.

A.V. Scott was born in 1978 in Caguas, Puerto Rico and was raised in Brooklyn, New York. Her obsession with cupcakes began after moving to Florida, where she opened a cupcake store that specialized in mini cupcakes.She is currently an online blogger, freelancer, Poet and ebook author. She is a member of the Florida Writers Association.

She can be found on Facebook and Twitter, where she keeps readers up to date on her writing life.

You can follow A.V. SCOTT here…

https://twitter.com/avscott1

http://www.facebook.com/pages/AV-Scott-Author/363424193668716

www.facebook.com/av.scott.92

http://wattpad.com/AvScott

http://www.avscott.com

More about the book…

I thought I’d share with you one of the sections that I really enjoyed, it’s when Melissa the main character is talking to her best friend Angie over lunch.

‘I raised an eyebrow as I watched Angie speak. I knew there was something more she wasn’t telling me. She had been dating Andrew for three months. It was the longest, monogamous relationship Angie had ever had.

“Plus, that ship sailed a long time ago,” Angie said, pushing a piece of salad around on her plate with a fork.

“What did you do?” I asked, open-mouthed.

“Why does it always have to be me?”

“Because it is always you!”

“Let’s face it Mel, it was a long time coming.”

“True, but I’m hoping you sugar coated it just a little,” I said, knowing all too well that nice wasn’t how Angie was wired.

“You know Andrew. He’s not particularly intelligent,” Angie said, rearranging the napkin on her lap. “So, I had to just come flat out and say it.”

I covered my eyes and prepared for the imaginary train wreck as I thought about all the horrible things that Angie could have possibly told him.

“I told him the God’s honest truth. I told him that he was as useful in bed as a pogo stick in quicksand.”

“No!” I choked on my water and tried really hard not to laugh.

“Yes. I stared straight into his eyes and told him Andrew, love is a matter of chemistry, but sex is a matter of physics. I neither love you nor am I physically attracted to your penis,” Angie said, drinking the remainder of her third martini.

“Hit him where it hurts huh. Poor guy,” I said, looking at the empty plate in front of me and trying to ignore the fact that I was still hungry.’

Interested? You can pick up a copy of High Heels in New York on Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/High-Heels-New-York-ebook/dp/B00DG7W93K/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1372982351&sr=1-1&keywords=high+heels+in+new+york

AND, if you’d like to join in the release party, you can do so here

http://www.facebook.com/events/181149438718630/

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Feature

Leave a Reply

