Time to clear something up re: Athletes

Ok, so normally I just ignore comments made in reviews, but one keeps popping up about A Beautiful Struggle that I feel the need to comment on myself.

It goes along the lines of ‘I can’t believe that Katrina, being an athlete, would drink, party and have sex like she does’

This is where I say – believe it. Athletes party hard. Especially when they aren’t in competition. How do I know this? Because I used to be an elite athlete. I rowed for Australia for two consecutive years when I was younger – so I know a little about how much athletes drink and do stupid things. I witnessed it first hand and joined in on more than one occasion.

Don’t believe me – here’s proof. That’s me on the left in stroke seat, racing in the World Championships. (it’s a bit grainy coz it’s a photo of a photo)

20130628_191502

What’s the point of this post? Well, other than to prove my point, I wanted to say that I ALWAYS research my books. I try to stay as true to the character and as true to life as I possibly can.  I’m not perfect and I might make mistakes – but in this case I didn’t

That’s all 🙂

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Stuff I wanna say

4 responses to “Time to clear something up re: Athletes

  1. One of the things I enjoyed most about ‘Struggle’ was the references to Katrina’s training/triathlons – I felt it was particularly authentic and a real positive in that book.
    Remind anyone how hard the olympic swimmers party after the swimming part is all over…

    Like

  2. Cate Ellink

    I have a good friend who’s a world champion athlete – never known anyone to party harder. When she parties, no one keeps up. When she trains, she focuses the same way.

    So I’m with you, Lilliana. Some elite athletes do it all, hard 🙂

    Cate xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

